• 07/16/24: We are aware of the smishing scams regarding outstanding toll charges. The Mobility Authority will never ask for personal information via text and only send texts with account updates and to those who have opted in to QR Code Digital Billing and Electronic Invoices. Please do not click on links or respond to any suspicious messages. To get the most up to date information about your Mobility Authority account, visit or call us at (833) 762-8655. The Mobility Authority works diligently to protect our customers’ data.

Central Texas Regional Mobility Authority Designates Ray A. Wilkerson Freeway

(Austin, Texas) – The Central Texas Regional Mobility Authority (Mobility Authority) announced today, its designation of a portion of the 183A Phase II roadway in Williamson County, Texas as the “Ray A. Wilkerson Freeway.”

Ray A. Wilkerson was appointed as the Chairman of the Mobility Authority’s Board of Directors by the Governor of Texas in 2009. He served in that capacity for the next 10 years, dedicating his time and expertise to grow the Mobility Authority. His leadership helped to ensure the ongoing success of the organization’s mission to provide innovative and sustainable transportation options that enhance the quality of life and economic vitality of Central Texans.

Evidence of Wilkerson’s efforts is notable. The Mobility Authority, which was founded in 2002, has grown quickly over the years from a small startup into a multi-billion-dollar entity with multiple open roads and projects in development that provide traffic congestion relief for the booming population in and surrounding Austin, Texas.

“We are incredibly grateful to have had Ray Wilkerson at the helm of our Board of Directors for so many years,” said Mike Heiligenstein, Executive Director for the Mobility Authority.  “He has been instrumental to the success of the Mobility Authority, and the positive impacts of his service are easily recognizable in the improved mobility of the region.”

The Board of Directors is comprised of six members appointed equally by both Travis and Williamson Counties and the Chairman appointed by the Governor. Wilkerson’s work as Chairman has been vital to the organization and the region. His tenure has seen the successful opening of 183A Phase II in Williamson County, the Manor Expressway (290 East), 45SW, the innovative MoPac Express Lanes, and the commencement of the $750 million 183 South Project.

To show its gratitude and recognize Wilkerson’s dedication to the organization and improving mobility in Central Texas, the Mobility Authority officially designated the “Ray A. Wilkerson Freeway” during its February 26, 2020 Board of Directors Meeting.

“The Mobility Authority Board of Directors is tasked with the important job of helping ensure the success of vital transportation projects, and I couldn’t have had a better example for my new role as Chairman than that of Ray Wilkerson,” said Bobby Jenkins, who was appointed as the succeeding Chairman of the Board of Directors in July 2019 by Governor Abbott. “We are all the beneficiaries of his leadership.”

A permanent sign honoring Wilkerson will be visible to motorists traveling northbound along 183A after they pass Whitestone Boulevard/RM 1431.


About the Mobility Authority

The Central Texas Regional Mobility Authority is a local, independent government agency created in 2002 to improve the regional transportation system in Travis and Williamson Counties. The Mobility Authority implements innovative and sustainable transportation options to enhance quality of life and economic vitality in Central Texas. The Mobility Authority operates 183A Toll, 290 Toll, the 71 Toll Lane, the MoPac Express Lane, the 45SW Toll Road, and the 183 Toll Road. The agency is finishing construction of the 8-mile 183 South Project and the 290/130 Flyovers Project. For more information about the Mobility Authority, visit

Sign Up for the CTRMA Newsletter